Lay Leadership

The Church Council is responsible for the strategic direction and the financial life of Augustana.

Augustana’s mission and value statements are the basis for directing how church ministries and programs are shaped and how resources are allocated. Nine members of Augustana, the pastors, and an elected treasurer make up the Church Council.  Six council representatives are elected by the congregation each January at the annual meeting. Terms are three years and members may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

Upon being elected, each member chooses a church committee on which to participate. Committees may meet monthly or less often, depending on the business they need to accomplish. The council member serving on each committee will verbally report to the council at its monthly meetings, discussing what is happening in the particular ministry and how the council can be supportive. The council meets on the third Tuesday of each month.

If you wish to contact a member of the Church Council, please contact the church office at 651.457.3373 and they will have the council member contact you.


  • Call Committee 
  • Columbarium (committee members are nominated and voted on at the annual congregational meeting)
  • Community Mission
  • EarthKeepers
  • Global Mission Task Force
  • Harvest Fund (committee members are nominated and voted on at the annual congregational meeting)
  • Personnel Committee
  • Stewardship

In addition, each ministry area depends on the dedication and commitment of many lay leaders to make ministry happen at Augustana. We are grateful for our members who lead and volunteer for everything from ushers to Confirmation small group leaders to Befrienders.

Office Hours &
Building Information

8:00 am – 4:30 pm

8:00 am – noon

The main building entrance is located on the east side of the church and is open on Sundays and during the week. For security purposes, the north entrance is only open on Sundays and for special events.